Monday, July 15, 2024
  • Congratulations |India for Mission Mars 2

Delhi Assembly: AAP 67, BJP 03, Congress nil

2/10/2015 7:49:31 PM

Kejriwal to take oath for his second term as CM on Feb 14th 

New Delhi: The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has won as many as 67 seats in the 70-member House of Delhi Legislative Assembly.  Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) was left bruised in a distant second place with just three seats while as Indian National Congress got out on duck.
The AAP's win set up the second stint for Arvind Kejriwal as chief minister almost a year after he had quit the post in controversial circumstances after failing to push through an anti-graft law. In an ironic twist, the 46-year-old former tax officer-turned-politician was set to be sworn-in exactly a year after he resigned.

Former senior cop Kiran Bedi, who was roped in by the party at the last minute to take on Kejriwal, was defeated in the BJP's stronghold of Krishna Nagar.

AAP chief Arvind Kejriwal described the AAP's comprehensive victory as a "people's victory". Even before the counting of votes ended, Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated Kejriwal by a tweet and assured him of "complete support in the development of Delhi".

Trinamool Congress chief Mamata Banerjee termed AAP's victory as a turning point in India’s political landscape and a big defeat for those who indulge in vendetta politics. The West Bengal chief minister tweeted' this is a victory for the people and a big defeat for the arrogant and those who are doing vendetta and spreading hate among people.

Ajay Maken, the Congress' campaign committee chief, resigned from his party position of AICC general secretary. 

The closely fought election saw a record turnout of 67.10% and 8.9 million of the city's 13.3 million-strong electorate cast their votes. The 2013 elections had produced a hung assembly, and the AAP (with 28 MLAs) formed a government with the outside support of eight Congress legislators.

(With inputs from Soumitra Nandi in Kolkata)


Write A Comment

  Name (required)

  Mail (required)